Steve Jobs to be posthumously awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom

Steve Jobs, the late co-founder of tech giant Apple, shall be posthumously awarded the nation’s highest civilian honor, the Presidential Medal of Freedom, The White House said on a press release Friday.

On Friday, July 1, President Joe Biden announced the seventeen recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom, which includes the Apple co-founder who passed away from cancer in 2011.

The White House stated that Jobs is on the list because of his innovative role in revolutionizing the technology industry as well as adjacent areas. One of the greatest innovators of the last century, Jobs is famous for his five “inventions”, namely the original Macintosh (1984), iMac (1998), iPod (2001), iPad (2010), and the iPhone (2007).

The awards shall be presented at the White House on July 7.

The Presidential Medal of Freedom is “presented to individuals who have made exemplary contributions to the prosperity, values, or security of the United States, world peace, or other significant societal, public or private endeavors.”

As written in the White House’s press release for Steve Jobs:

Steve Jobs (posthumous)

Steve Jobs (d. 2011) was the co-founder, chief executive, and chair of Apple, Inc., CEO Pixar and held a leading role at the Walt Disney Company. His vision, imagination and creativity led to inventions that have, and continue to, change the way the world communicates, as well as transforming the computer, music, film and wireless industries.

Below is the list of all 2022 recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom:

  • Simone Biles
  • Sister Simone Campbell
  • Julieta García
  • Gabrielle Giffords
  • Fred Gray
  • Steve Jobs
  • Father Alexander Karloutsos
  • Khizr Khan
  • Sandra Lindsay
  • John McCain
  • Diane Nash
  • Megan Rapinoe
  • Alan Simpson
  • Richard Trumka
  • Wilma Vaught
  • Denzel Washington
  • Raul Yzaguirre

Leave a Comment